PC Upgrades and Pics

Discuss/recommend/tweak/brag about........... your hardware.
Tue Sep 09, 2008 5:10 pm

  • I started this topic so everyone can include updated pics of their systems and to post questions about upgrades.

    I recently went from an AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.0 GHz) and EVGA GeForce 8800GT to an AMD Athlon X2 6400+ (3.2 GHz) and HIS Radeon HD 4850.

    First off, the biggest improvement was definitely with the CPU. I went from a Windows Experience Index score of 4.8 (determined by lowest sub score) to a 5.5. So, my lowly 2.0 GHz processor was surely holding me back and was a bottleneck for my over-clocked 8800GT.

    Image

    Next, a little history...

    Image

    Starting from the left:

    3dfx Voodoo 3000 AGP <-- if you guys remember 3dfx. They started SLI then got bought out by Nvdia. Tried UT on it...
    2.66 GB/sec bandwidth
    16 MB of 166 mHz SDRAM

    PNY GeForce FX 5500 AGP 8x <-- got for Rise of Nations game
    6.4 GB/sec bandwidth
    128 MB of 200 mHz DDR

    EVGA GeForce 8800GT Superclocked PCI Express 2.0 <-- for BF2 since I was using my new laptop I got for school.
    64 GB/sec bandwidth
    512 MB of DDR3 at 2.0 GHz (10 x 1 GHz)

    HIS Radeon HD 4850 <-- bought due to early reviews saying it beat a GTX 260!
    64 GB/sec bandwidth
    512 MB of GDDR3

    So, there you go. My first to latest graphics cards. I saw a HUGE jump in performance when I got the 8800GT obviously. But, I was a little disappointed with the HD4850 when I compare it to my 8800GT SC. All the reviews claimed it beat the 8800GT hands down but my results are different. I guess they were comparing it to a stock 8800GT...

    Benchmark Results:

    I actually planned on benchmarking with Company of Heroes, HL2: Lost Coast, HL:2 Episode 2, Call of Duty 4, F.E.A.R., Crysis demo, UT3 demo, Bioshock demo, BF2, and 3dMArk 06. But, I forgot to disable v-sync or unlock the framrates when I tested with the 8800GT. I was getting 60 fps for everything so I'll have to post the updated benchmarks later in the week.

    Radeon 4850:
    HL2: Lost Coast- 116 FPS at 1920 x 1200 Everything High
    3d Mark 06- 10,658 pts.

    That's all I have now, since I need to go back and benchmark with the 8800GT like I said...

    I'm happy where I'm out now compared to 2 years ago where I using my new $2,000 school laptop with a new Intel Core 2 Duo at 2.0 GHz, 2 GB of DDR 677 mHz RAM, and an ATI x1300.

    I think my 3d Mark 06 score has gone from...
    324 with the laptop
    7,608 with AMD 2.0 Ghz cpu and 8800GT
    10,658 with AMD 3.2 GHz cpu and HD 4850

    Well, that's it for the first post in this new topic. I've got at least two more coming within this week hopefully. I hope we can keep this topic busy and full of pics. So, post up! :D
    Last edited by =OSS*DesmoLocke= on Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:03 pm

  • I'm adding to the topic with hopefully a simple request...

    I was wondering if anyone had any old AMD motherboards lying around that might have these black retention brackets...

    Image

    I need to get rid of the huge Dell air duct system currently in my tower. I would like to install an aftermarket cpu cooler and have the room for a 2 slot design graphics card if I ever decide to upgrade this machine again...

    Image

    Need to get that thing out of there!!! Its huge!

    If anyone can help I'd greatly appreciate it. If not, I might be able to find some on the Asus website for $5-$6 or on Ebay...

    Thanks!

    -= Remember to post about your systems with some pics =-
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:00 pm

  • none of your pics loaded nice system
    User avatar
    =OSS*SHANK=
    Clan Server Guru
     
    Posts: 400
    Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:17 pm
    Location: Clovis, NM

Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:37 pm

  • ok they loaded sorry was on my pda
    User avatar
    =OSS*SHANK=
    Clan Server Guru
     
    Posts: 400
    Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:17 pm
    Location: Clovis, NM

Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:59 pm

  • :D LOL had me worried there for a minute there Shank...

    So, how about it?

    Let's see your PC on here...
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:10 am

  • =OSS*DesmoLocke wrote:I'm adding to the topic with hopefully a simple request...

    I was wondering if anyone had any old AMD motherboards lying around that might have these black retention brackets...



    how many would you like, I should have half a dozen around here....lol

    or would you like a whole case?

    pm me
    Image

    Some people are like slinkies, they don't realy have a purpose, But they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.
    User avatar
    =OSS*Injun=
    Admin
     
    Posts: 977
    Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:06 am
    Location: Ca.

Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:30 pm

  • CPU: P4 2.6GHz 800MHz FSB OC'd to 2.81GHz 864MHz FSB 512kb cache.
    RAM: 2GB DRR400/333, running at 333 bc it uses lower speed :(
    HDD: 160GB Seagate Barracude PATA 7200rpm.
    Video Card: 128MB ATI Radeon 9600Pro AGP 8x Video Card
    Tower: Linkworld G5 Mid-tower with 500-watt PSU.
    Optical: One 20x DVD-RW by LG


    2nd System (older)

    CPU: Intel Pentium 3 1GHz OC'd to 1.36GHz, forget the FSB, 256kb cache.
    RAM: 768MB SDRAM Pc-133 (3 x 256MB)
    Video Card: 128MB Radeon 9000 AGP 4x
    HDD: 2 x 20GB Maxtor's PATA 5400rpm.
    Tower: Idk. lol, looks nicer than my gamer though :(
    Optical: 2 x CD-RW, one sony 40x and LG 32x

    I will post pics when i find the cord to uploads pics from my phone.
    User avatar
    HonkeyMofoJr
    Clan Mascot
     
    Posts: 1183
    Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:18 pm
    Location: Girl Scouts... scouting girls >:]

Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:49 pm

  • Your second system sounds like the first system I got while in 6th grade in 1999. Had the Pentium 3 and only 384 MB of PC100 memory! It came with a HUGE 20 GB hard drive! :) It also had that 3dfx card (pic on left) and it just ran UT on low/med settings at 1024x768.
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:02 pm

  • I just bought 8 Dell 1950s with dual quad core Intel CPU, 32 GB of RAM, and dual 147 GB 15k RPM SATA drives...for work :)
    =OSS*Foomster
    The Nightmarish Ninja
     
    Posts: 210
    Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:58 pm
    Location: South Jordan, UT

Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:43 pm

  • :shock: :shock: :shock:

    If only you could fire that thing up for BF2...
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:36 pm

  • 32GB OF FREAKIN RAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WTFFFFFFFF!!!
    And Desmo, I had that same 3dfx voodoo card, it's in my moms machine right now, she dosnt game, just work and IE.
    User avatar
    HonkeyMofoJr
    Clan Mascot
     
    Posts: 1183
    Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:18 pm
    Location: Girl Scouts... scouting girls >:]

Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:30 pm

  • Can actually go up to 64 GB now, but the DIMMs are $1067 per 8 GB. Using them as hosts for virtualization
    =OSS*Foomster
    The Nightmarish Ninja
     
    Posts: 210
    Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:58 pm
    Location: South Jordan, UT

Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:50 am

  • I've been out of action for a while because of some malicious code. I think its left over junk from my little brother's BF2 hack stuff. It was taking forever to load BF2 and login, so I decided to clean out some files. I guess I cleaned out some important Windows stuff too. :roll:

    So, I've just finished re-installing Vista and SP1. I'll install BF2 (again!) tomorrow and be back by tomorrow night! Now, I've got to go to bed! It's nearly 5 AM and I have a 9 AM class...

    Oh, and I'll have that post comparing the overclocked 8800 GT to the HD 4850 soon too. I've also been working on some cable management. I'll have some pics up too.
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:12 pm

  • Does anyone know any possible way to upgrade dedicated video card on a HP laptop. I got a go7600gs in there... Would any Go series be interchangable??? or i saw some new m9600gt something (maybe not exact name of it) But looks same size.

    You think laptop will adopt other cards??? i saw some being sold on ebay.
    Laptop is 2 year old now.
    Guest
     

Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:22 pm

  • I know most laptops today that come with dedicated graphics are much easier to upgrade. Your laptop from 2 years ago might be upgradable like my 2 year-old laptop. It'll just take some time and a really small phillips head screwdriver. The best thing to do is Google your model # or visit HP's website and find your answer. Or post your model # here and see what we can come up with...

    UPDATE: I should have the rest of my HD4850 review up by the end of the week finally.
    User avatar
    =OSS*DesmoLocke=
    Carolina Corpse Creator
     
    Posts: 2379
    Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:46 am
    Location: Charlotte, NC

Next


Return to Hardware




Information
  • Who is online
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
cron